The Nightlight Series: You

by ThoughtEncoder

You see, distance was all it needed. It gave me time to reflect, to see really who you are to me, and I’m happy that I’m finally free of my illusions. I now realize that more important things that I must do. It was stupid. I was like a kid having this huge crush, quietly waiting for you to be the one to first notice me, to first talk to me, to be the first to say that you appreciate my presence…but none of it happened. And I, being the emotional human being that I am, let that failed expectation get into me so much that I ended up brokenhearted.

We weren’t even a couple. Yet in my imagination, we were. And that was what made me like a silly brokenhearted girl. I took all of the emotions as if they were real, as if I had every right to cry, to be sad, to feel jealous. It was crazy.

I though you were the one. I thought that finally someone came into my life who will accept me wholeheartedly, someone who I know will always be there…because you were that kind of person. You are kind, understanding, funny, and sweet. You look out for others and have a heart for them. You’re charming. Whoever you choose will be one very lucky person.

And I hope that I will be there to witness your happiness. I’m not closing my door on the possibility that we might end up together, although I am also not saying that I am still in love with you. I love, that is why I want to see you happy. I love you, that is why I care about you. I love you and I am thankful for having met you.

Goodnight.

